Dummy Award 2016 Shortlist Announced

by Unseen August 31 2016

Unseen and Lecturis have designed a photobook dummy award to showcase the work of exceptional photographers from around the world and to give them a chance to realise and publish their photobook dummy. The Unseen Dummy Award will give the winning photographer an entry into the international photography industry. 

We thank all who submitted photobooks to the 2016 Unseen Dummy Award! After a long deliberation, our shortlist committee has made a first selection of photobook dummies. Congratulations to the following:

Milou Abel – Eelke & Charles
Mathieu Asselin - Monsanto: A Photographic Investigation
Olga Bushkova – A Google Wife
Flaviu Cacoveanu – ABCDEFOREVER
Dieter De Lathauwer – I loved my wife  (killing children is good for the economy)
Dusan Djordevic – SIV-Time capsule
Johannes Fiola - We have some glimpse of hope
Tomoya Fujii – Planet
Lucía Gómez – GÓMEZ
Elisa Gonzalez Miralles – WANNABE
Maria Kapajeva - Reading Apocrypha
Noortje Knulst - The Every Other Day
Adél Koleszár – New Routes of Faith
Martin Lamberty – Dream for Sale
Anastasiya Lazurenko – Pearly Gates
Natalia Marzec – SPECERE
Stefanie Moshammer – Land Of Black Milk
Liz Orton – A Handful of Soil for the Whole Horizon
Alessandro Perini – Operation Olympiad
Jana Plavec – Windows of Chanov
Roos Quakernaat – A Proper Dish
Ieva Raudsepa – Cruise
Caro Ray –Democratic Landscape
David Schikora – No Tips No Show
Torsten Schumann – Inclined
Nishant Shukla -– Seeking Moksha (release from the cycle of rebirth)
Senta Simond – KEUN GUI SO NYEO / Girls With Big Ears
Katarina Šoškić – I became a milkman's donkey
Alnis Stalke – Melancholic Road
Clare Steele – J.W.
Daniel Stier – any two for five
Jeanne Tullen – Womb
Nita Vera – Spatial Practices
Jagoda Wisniewska – Czarna Madonna
Xiaoxiao Xu – Orim Oil
Yosuke Yajima – a way of seeing
Agustin Zuluaga Olarte – Santisimo Sacramento

On Friday the 23rd of September, an international jury will come together at Unseen to select one photobook dummy as the winner, which will be announced at 10.00 during a special event in the Unseen Living Room.

This year, the esteemed jury comprises of Paul van Mameren (Managing Director, Lecturis), Irma Boom (graphic designer), Sean O'Hagan (journalist, The Guardian) and Francesco Zanot (Chief Curator at Camera Centro Italiano per la Fotografia’s).